Malta Is Red: Muscat Praises ‘Historic’ Result After Labour Party Demolishes PN In Local Council Elections By 18%
malta is red muscat praises historic result after labour party demolishes pn in local council elections by 18 - Malta Is Red: Muscat Praises 'Historic' Result After Labour Party Demolishes PN In Local Council Elections By 18%

The Labour Party has emerged as the clear winners at the end of three days of counting for the local council elections, demolishing the Nationalist Party and running away with the majority in 49 localities.

The PN has walked away with just 19 of the 68 local councils across the island.

Speaking on One, Prime Minister Joseph Muscat said that the result has consolidated his party’s electoral majority. However, he did heighten the “symbolic importance” of capturing the capital city, Mosta, St Paul’s Bay, and San Gwann.

He also expressed his satisfaction in the number of young local councillors elected.

“There have been people who have resigned after a bad performance in a mid-term election, and this was an election between Delia and myself,” Muscat said stressing the importance of the result.

The devastating defeat comes a little under a week after the PN lost by a 42,000 vote margin in the MEP elections.

The ever-growing pressure on embattled PN Leader Adrian Delia will only continue after he led his party to second humbling defeat in a national election.

Sources had previously told Lovin Malta that a leadership bid could emerge should the PN perform badly in the local council elections.

Not only has Labour increased its margins in local councils it held, it has also managed to wrestle away Siġġiewi, Valletta, Mosta, St Paul’s Bay, and San Gwann away from the PN.

The only local council the PN managed to win back was Munxar.

Third party candidates performed poorly, as former PN Mayors came back to haunt their parties to get elected as independents on their localities.

A young activist Steve Zammit Lupi was also elected as an independent in Ħaz-Żebbuġ

Source: Malta Today

The elected candidates of the final count of voting are:

San Lawrenz: Noel Formosa (mayor), Anthony Formosa, Joseph Michael Cauchi, Carmela Grima – PN; George Camilleri – PL

Munxar (PN): Damien Spiteri (mayor), Carmela Parnis, Mark Anthony Busuttil – PN; Sonja Abela, Joseph Cauchi – PL

Senglea (PL): Clive Pulis (mayor), Anthony Bonavia, Joeline Attard, Corinne Buhagiar – PL; Malcolm Gatt – PN

Floriana (PL): Davina Sammut Hili (mayor), Gail Demanuele, Vincent Borg – PL; James Aaron Ellul, Justine Palmier – PN

Xgħajra(PL): Neil Attard (mayor), Rosabelle Pulis, Anthony Valvo, Raymond Camilleri – PL; Doris Borg – PN

Swieqi (PN): Noel Muscat (mayor), Mary Anne Abela, Rowena Scicluna, Paul Fenech, Anna Pisani, Teresa Valentino, Edgar Rossignaud – PN; Matthew Bonello, Aleander Chetcuti – PL

Żebbuġ (Gozo) (Deadlocked): Marlene Cini, Sandra Grech – PL; Daniel Cordina, Baskal Saliba – PN; Nicky Saliba – independent (mayorship undecided)

Kerċem (PN): Mario Azzopardi (mayor), Pawlu Mizzi, Horace Vella – PN; Frankie Attard, Elvin Grech – PL

Qala (PL): Paul Buttigieg (mayor), John Cefai, Joseph Buttigieg – PL; Karl Buttigieg, Valerie Cassar Mejlak – PN

Mtarfa (PL): Daniel Attard (mayor), Kyle Mifsud, Marica Sammut Dimech – PL; Simon Paul Fenech, Anton Mifsud – PN

Kirkop (PL): Terence Agius (mayor), Joseph Schembri, Ritienne Caruana – PL; John Luke Cassar, Cody Galea – PN

Gżira (PL): Conrad Borg Manché (mayor), Ralph Mangion, Neville Chetcuti, Ian Buhagiar, Alexander Zammit – PL; Jeremy Cardona, Hugh Caruana, Shaun Farrugia, Jessica Borg – PN

Birgu (PL): John Boxall (mayor), Christopher Cassar, Trevor Mizzi, Jason Bortelli – PL; Anton Gellel – PN

Safi (PL): John Mula (mayor), Janice Azzopardi, Francis Callus – PL; Joanna Abdilla, Pupull Abdilla – PN

Għargħur (PN): Abraham Aquilina (mayor), Helen Gauci, Marilena Galea – PN; Christopher Fenech, Carl Grech – PL

Luqa (PL): John Schembri (mayor) Donald Cassar, Eric Camilleri, Kearon Bruno, Lucia Massa – PL; Frederick Aquilina, Victor Caruana – PN

Ħamrun (PL): Christian Sammut (mayor), Vince Bonello, Jurgen Carl Grixti, Carmen Borg, Cynthia Tomasuolo – PL; Efrem Buttigieg, Louise Portelli – PN

Siġġiewi (PL): Kurstein Sant (mayor), Rodianne Haber, Dominic Grech, Adrian Farrugia – PL; Alessia Psaila Zammit, Julian Borg, Francine Farrugia – PN

Santa Luċija (PL): Charmaine St John (mayor), Frederick Cutajar, Terrence Ellul, Kyle D’Amato – PL; Liam Sciberras – PN

Mosta:(PL) Romilda Baldacchino Zarb (mayor), Chris Grech, Rachel Abela, Shirley Abela, Pia Bonnici, Marvic Camilleri, Joseph Howard – PL; Keith Cassar, Frans Debuara, Angele Rapa, Joseph Gatt, Aiken Zerafa, Mikhail Micallef – PN

Qormi (PL): Renald Falzon (mayor), Josef C. Masini Vento, Donnha Barbara, Daniel Ablett, Marvin Zammit, Sean Apap Meli, Martina Grech – PL; Jerome Caruana Cilia, Ralph Puli, Carmelo Cuschieri, George Muscat – PN

Attard (PN): Stefan Cordina (mayor), Alex Mangion, Connie Scerri, Remigio Bartolo, Silvio Brincat, Giorgio Schembri – PN; Helen Caruana, John P. Bonnici, Victor Galea – PL

READ NEXT: Labour Snatches Adrian Delia’s Hometown Of Siġġiewi Leaving PN With No Councils In The South

Back to: Malta Blog

Spread some Malta love :)